FUFA declares Vipers SC as the Champions of 2019/20 UPL.


The Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) has declared Vipers SC as the champions of 2019/20 Uganda Premier League Champions after the league prematurely ended.

Its recalled that due to the outbreak of the novel corona virus pandemic in Uganda, FUFA called off the league as a mean to prevent its spread.

By the time of suspending matches, the league had been played at 75% stage, Vipers led the standings with 54 points from 25 matches, 4 points ahead of KCCA. Based on this performance, the club was declared the champions.

Meanwhile, three teams which were at the bottom of the league by the closure time that is to say;  Maroons, Proline and Tooro United are all relegated to the second tier division (FUFA Big League).


Two clubs in the second division, MYDA and UPDF have been promoted since they led the second tier by the end of the first round.

Since 75% of matches had not been played in the second round, the rules are clear on the promotion, taking into consideration the first round table standings.

The third club to be promoted will be determined via a play off before kickoff of the 2020/2021 season.

The clubs set for that playoff battle are Kiboga Young, Kitara, Ndejje University and Kataka.


Leave a Reply