Kabarole district headquarters moved as Fort Portal prepares for city status.


Kabarole district headquarters will leave shortly evacuate its magnificent buildings at Kitumba hill to Busuro to pave way for a new City status for Fort Portal.

The decision was reached by the district council which resolved to shift its headquarters to Busuro subcounty.

FOCAGIFO Hope Institute Advert

Fort Portal municipality is in maiden hours to evolve into a Tourism City centre effective 1st July.

Mr Richard Rwabuhinga, the Chairman LCV Kabarole district said that the sub county premises at Busuro shall accommodate the district as the Kitumba blocks accommodates Fort Portal city administration.

On April28th,2020 Parliament approved creation of 15 new cities with each city to have only two divisions each with an MP and a Woman Member of Parliament for the city.

Seven municipalities were approved to upgrade to city status effective 1st July2020 while others were pushed to other years of 2021 to 2023.

Cities to start in 2020 includes:

Mbarara, Fort Portal, Masaka, Arua, Mbale, Gulu and Jinja.

WhereasWhereas cities of; Hoima, Lira and Soroti shall commence in FY2021, Entebbe city in 2022 FY.

Others to start in 2023 are; Kabale, Nakasongola, Wakiso and Moroto.

As there are remaining countable hours for the approved 2020 cities to start functioning, a number of changes in demarcations have been done in these municipalities as they pave ways for city statues.

Magnificent Kabalore district headquarters at Kitumba hill.
Follow Us on Social Media

Leave a Reply